APB is a Global Speaker, Celebrity & Entertainment Agency

Speaking to the World

Boston | Chicago | San Diego | Atlanta

Tess  Gerritsen

Tess Gerritsen

Best-Selling Author of the Rizzoli & Isles Series


Internationally best-selling author Tess Gerritsen took an unusual route to a writing career. A graduate of Stanford University, Gerritsen went on to medical school at the University of California, San Francisco, where she was awarded her M.D. Read More >

While on maternity leave from her work as a physician, she began to write fiction. In 1987, her first novel was published. Call After Midnight, a romantic thriller, was followed by eight more romantic suspense novels. She also wrote a screenplay, “Adrift,” which aired as a 1993 CBS Movie of the Week starring Kate Jackson.

Gerritsen’s first medical thriller, Harvest, was released in hardcover in 1996, and it marked her debut on the New York Times Bestseller List. Her suspense novels since then have been Life Support (1997), Bloodstream (1998), Gravity (1999), The Surgeon (2001), The Apprentice (2002), The Sinner (2003), Body Double (2004), Vanish (2005), The Mephisto Club (2006), The Bone Garden (2007), The Keepsake (2008), Ice Cold (2010; UK title: The Killing Place), The Silent Girl (2011), Last to Die (2012), and the upcoming The Keeper of the Bride (2013). Her books have been published in 40 countries and sold more than 25 million copies around the world.

Her books have been top-three bestsellers in the United States and abroad. She has received the Nero Wolfe Award (for Vanish) and the Rita Award (for The Surgeon) and was a finalist for the Edgar Award (for Vanish).

Her series of novels featuring homicide detective “Jane Rizzoli” and medical examiner “Maura Isles” inspired the hit TNT television series Rizzoli & Isles, starring Angie Harmon and Sasha Alexander. Read Less ^

Speech Topics

From Physician to Fiction

Books & Media


The Keeper of the Bride